TCR Asia reveal 2020 calendar

The organisers of TCR Asia have revealed a five-date calendar for the 2020 season.

The season will get underway in April with a round at Sepang in Malaysia before back-to-back events on Chinese soil alongside TCR China at Zhejiang and Shanghai.

Round four will see TCR Asia racing as part of the popular Bangsaen Grand Prix, before the season finale at the Bira Circuit near Pattaya in Thailand – which will be appearing on the schedule for the first time.

The Zhuhai International Circuit in China is the venue to make way for the new Thai date.

“We’ve had great success in past seasons combining the TCR Asia Series events with those from TCR China and TCR Thailand,” WSC Asia Limited’s David Sonenscher explained. “It has been a bonus for the national championships to run alongside the TCR Asia teams, many of whom have experience at the highest level around the world, whilst for TCR Asia, it’s nice to provide a sense of what TCR was established to achieve – building an opportunity for teams to progress to the various regional series and pave the way to compete in events like the Macau GP and WTCR.

“We’re pleased to have put together such a good calendar, and we look forward to attracting teams from across the region, and from Europe. There’s a lot of discussion at the moment, and we welcome that, certainly with events like Macau and WTCR continuing to attract attention around the world, it shows that the TCR philosophy is really working and providing a great stepping stone for drivers looking to build an international career.”

2020 TCR Asia Series – calendar:

10/12 April – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
29/31 May – Zhejiang International Circuit, China
26/28 June – Shanghai International Circuit, China
17/19 July – Bangsaen Grand Prix, Thailand
7/9 August – Bira Circuit, Thailand