Photo: DTM Media

Robin Frijns flies to pole position at the Nürburgring

Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline driver Robin Frijns claimed his fifth pole position of the DTM season for the second race at the Nürburgring sprint circuit. The Dutch driver claimed pole ahead of WRT’s Ferdinand Habsburg, who claimed his best-ever DTM qualifying result.

WRT driver Harrison Newey and Team Rosberg drive Jamie Green received a five-place grid drop penalty for today’s race as they both reached the maximum amount of warnings, three, in yesterday’s race.

The field returned to the track for their final runs at the end of the session, with René Rast initially rising to the top but was quickly beaten by Habsburg and Nico Müller.

But it would be Frijns who, with a lap time of 1:19.117, would beat Habsburg by two-tenths, with Müller in third, 0.268 seconds behind.

Rast could only manage fourth position, 0.335 seconds behind Frijns, with Team RMG’s Marco Wittmann the best-placed BMW driver in fifth place, 0.385 seconds off the pace.

Team RBM’s Sheldon van der Linde qualified in sixth position, with ART Grand Prix drive Robert Kubica in seventh position, his best so far grid position in the DTM.

Timo Glock finished in eighth position, followed by Team RMR driver Lucas Auer, 0.621 seconds from the pole time.

Green qualified in tenth place, but his five-place grid drop penalty promotes Team RBM driver Philipp Eng to tenth place.

“The momentum is on my side now,” said Frijns after the session. “I was really happy with my lap, I knew it was good whilst I was at it, so it’s all good.”

Müller leads the championship on 217 points, with Frijns just eleven points behind and Rast 37 points adrift.

The start of Race 2 is scheduled for 13:30 CEST.