Photo: TCR Asia

Jason Zhang and Zhang Zhen Dong claims Tianma victories

Jason Zhang and Zhang Zhen Dong claimed one victory each in the two TCR Asia/China races at Tianma.

Jason Zhang started from pole in the first race and claimed the lead into Turn 1 while his Teamwork Motorsport team-mate Ma Qing Hua struggled off the line from second place, dropping down the order.

Zhang Zhen Dong of MG XPower worked his way up the order, passing fellow MG driver Wang Tao for second place on lap 16.

Jason Zhang claimed a superior victory, crossing the finishing line a massive 51 second ahead of Wang Tao, with Cao Hong Wei making it two MGs in the top three.

The result was enough for Teamwork Motorsport to secure the TCR Asia team title.

Zhang Zhen Dong started the second race from pole but was beaten off the line by Lynk & Co driver Sunny Wong.

The MG driver managed to retake the lead on lap four from Sunny Wong.

Lynk & Co driver Ma Qing Hua made contact with MG driver Rodolfo Ávila a lap later, spinning a Super Cup specification car in the process.

Ma Qing Hua was able to continue climbing the order to finish second, eight seconds behind winning driver Zhang Zhen Dong.

Cao Hong Wei claimed the final podium position for MG.

The result has elevated Zhang Zhen Dong to the TCR China points lead, 14 points ahead of Rodolfo Ávila.

Jason Zhang heads the TCR Asia points, 20 points ahead of team-mate Ma Qing Hua.

TCR China continues with another two races tomorrow, while TCR Asia will resume at the Macau street race on November 19-21 for its season finale.