Photo: Teamwork Motorsport

Teamwork Motorsport confirms Zhang, Wong and Zhu for TCR Asia

Teamwork Motorsport will be back with three Lynk & Co 03 TCR race cars for the 2022 TCR Asia season for drivers Jason Zhang, Sunny Wong and David Zhu.

Zhang claimed the 2021 TCR Asia title for the team after securing the Macau season finale victory.

“2021 was a fantastic year for me, to take my second Macau win, and also win my first drivers’ championship title with Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing,” said Zhang.

“It’s also great to have strong team-mates, with David Zhu joining the team – which means we have speed and experience in the team which will help us get the maximum performance possible from our Lynk & Co 03s.”

New to the team is Zhu who replaces Ma Qing Hua who has joined Cyan Racing in the WTCR this year.

Zhu claimed the 2017 China Touring Car Championship title and finished as runner-up in the 2021 China Endurance Championship.

“It’s a great opportunity to be back racing touring cars, and to be racing with a team like Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing,” said Zhu.

“Ma Qing Hua is going to be a tough driver to replace, but I’m relishing the challenge of joining the team and fighting for victories along with an experienced and super-fast pair of team-mates in Zhang and Wong.”