Photo: WTCC Media

Sweden replaces Turkey

What we have reported before, today has been confirmed by the FIA. The seventh race meeting of the 2007 FIA WTCC, that was scheduled on July 28th and 29th at the Istanbulpark, Turkey, will take place instead at Anderstorp, Sweden, on the same weekend.

Anderstorp’s 4.0 km Scandinavian Raceway is not a new venue for the FIA Touring Cars, as it hosted rounds of the FIA European Touring car Championship in 2002 and 2003.

Since then the circuit underwent major works to improve the facilities, including the construction of a building in which are located pit garages, administrative offices and the media centre; from 2005 Anderstorp has been reinclued in the calendar of the Swedish Touring Car Championship.

For the statistics, all three of the drivers who won the WTCC races at Anderstorp in 2002 and 2003 will be competing in the 2007 WTCC: Nicola Larini (two victories, one per year), Roberto Colciago (one win in 2003) and Jörg Müller (one win in 2002).