Entry list released, including 2 Ladas

Today the entry list for the World Touring Car Championship 2008 was released by the FIA. It contains 24 drivers from 13 different countries and 13 teams. There are also five different car manufacturers on the entry list; BMW, Chevrolet, Honda, SEAT and surprisingly Lada.

Russian Bears Motorsport, that had already been in WTCC for a couple of rounds before, was a late addition to the entry list. Entering two Lada 110’s, they will be present in the championship from the third round in Valencia. Russian Viktor Shapovalov and Dutchman Jaap van Lagen will be driving for Russian Bears Motorsport.

The 2008 FIA WTCC entry list:

1 – BMW Team UK; Andy Priaulx (GBR); BMW 320si
2 – BMW Team Germany; Augusto Farfus (BRA) ; BMW 320si
3 – BMW Team Germany; Jörg Müller (GER); BMW 320si
4 – BMW Team Italy-Spain; Alessandro Zanardi (ITA); BMW 320si
5 – BMW Team Italy-Spain; Félix Porteiro (ESP); BMW 320si;
6 – Chevrolet; Nicola Larini (ITA); Chevrolet Lacetti
7 – Chevrolet; Robert Huff (GBR); Chevrolet Lacetti
8 – Chevrolet; Alain Menu (SUI); Chevrolet Lacetti
9 – SEAT Sport; Jordi Gené (ESP); SEAT León 2.0 TDI
10 – SEAT Sport; Rickard Rydell (SWE); SEAT León 2.0 TDI
11 – SEAT Sport; Gabriele Tarquini (ITA) ; SEAT León 2.0 TDI
12 – SEAT Sport; Yvan Muller (FRA) ; SEAT León 2.0 TDI
13 – Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport; Ibrahim Okyay (TUR); BMW 320si
15 – N.technology; James Thompson (GBR); Honda Accord Euro R
16 – Wiechers-Sport; Olivier Tielemans (NED); BMW 320si
18 – SEAT Sport; Tiago Monteiro (POR); SEAT León 2.0 TDI
20 – SUNRED Engineering Development; Tom Coronel (NED) ; SEAT León 2.0 TFSI
23 – Exagon Engineering; Pierre-Yves Corthals (BEL); SEAT León 2.0 TFSI
26 – Scuderia Proteam Motorsport; Stefano D’Aste (ITA); BMW 320si
28 – Russian Bears Motorsport; Viktor Shapovalov (RUS); LADA 110 2.0 *
29 – Russian Bears Motorsport; Jaap van Lagen (NED); LADA 110 2.0 *
31 – Scuderia Proteam Motorsport; Sergio Hernández (ESP); BMW 320si
42 – Liqui Moly Team Engstler ; Franz Engstler (GER); BMW 320si
43 – Liqui Moly Team Engstler ; Andrey Romanov (RUS); BMW 320si

* subject to the homologation of the car