Photo: FIA media

Yvan Muller denies BMW first season win

SEAT driver Yvan Muller has taken the win in today’s second race at Puebla, Mexico. BMW driver Andy Priaulx was all over the back of Muller half the race, but the Frenchman managed to resist the pressure to take his second and SEAT’s fourth win of the season. Rickard Rydell, winner of the first race of today at Puebla, took third place in race two.

At the start of the race the BMW of Jörg Müller, who started from the second row, didn’t get the good start the BMW’s normally have. He even loses a place to Gabriele Tarquini, but because pole man Nicola Larini has even a worse start, Müller enters the first corner as third. Jordi Gené, started from second on the grid, enters the first corner as leader.

The place Jörg Müller lost to Tarquini is soon retaken during the first lap. On the second lap Tarquini loses another place to Yvan Muller, while Andy Priaulx is under severe pressure from Rickard Rydell for sixth place. Priaulx manages to resist, and on lap three both him and Rydell get passed Nicola Larini.

Augusto Farfus takes over 7th place from Sergio Hérnandez, who got nutched out of the way by the Brazilian. On lap four Farfus gets passed Larini as well, as the Chevrolet driver can’t keep up with the pace and drops back further.

Lap four also saw an exciting battle between Jörg Müller and Jordi Gené. The BMW driver tries to take Gene on the inside entering the last corner, but fails and loses speed, giving Yvan Muller a chance to have a go at him. But the Frenchman fails as well and get’s overtaken by Gabriele Tarquini.

A couple of corners later Müller has another trie to overtake Gene, and succeeds, but Gené retakes the lead immediately. It would be the last attempt from Müller, as on lap 6 he get’s pushed off brutally by Gabriele Tarquini. Yvan Muller takes over second, Tarquini stays in third. A lap later thing get worse for Tarquini as he skids out wide, dropping him back to 7th place.

On lap eight Yvan Muller takes over the lead from Jordi Gené and Andy Priaulx follows through to take second. A lap later Gené loses another place to his team mate Rickard Rydell.

Gené drops even further back and gets overtaken by BMW drivers Farfus, Hérnandez and Zanardi.

Even though Priaulx is all over the back of Muller for the final half of the race, he can’t force the Frenchman into a mistake. Muller takes his second win of the season, while BMW is still without one.

Best Chevrolet driver was Nicola Larini, who dropped back to tenth place after starting from pole. His team mates Alain Menu and Rob Huff finished the race in 12th and 14th respectively. Jaap van Lagen was the best Lada driver in 17th.