New point system for WTCC

Members of the World Motor Sport Council and the competitors of the FIA World Touring Car Championship have voted through a new points system. The system follows the ones of the FIA Formula One Championship and the FIA World Rally Championship.

The top ten drivers of each race will be awarded points, although the grid will still be reversed at top eight.

The scale starts at 25 points for first place, all the way down to 1 point for tenth place.

1st place: 25 points
2nd place: 18 points
3rd place: 15 points
4th place: 12 points
5th place: 10 points
6th place: 8 points
7th place: 6 points
8th place: 4 points
9th place: 2 points
10th place: 1 point