Photo: WTCC Media

2.0 litre engines to continue in 2011

Further detail on the WMSC’s confirmation that current S2000, S2000 Diesel and Nationally homologated cars can compete in the WTCC in 2011.

At an announcement along with the calendar for the FIA World Touring Car Championship in 2011 made earlier today (see seperate story), the World Motorsport Council (WMSC) also confirmed as many expected that the current 2.0 litre engines will also be permitted to be used in the 2011 championship.

Cars which are compliant with Article 263 Appendix J, Super 2000 and Super 2000 Diesel cars will also be accepted, as well as cars which are classed as ‘National’.

This opens the door for cars such as the Polestar Racing Volvo C30 to compete, built for the STCC, and be eligible for points.

Previously the car has been entered under a race by race dispensation, and in all cases not been eligible for championship points, as it has when it competed at Brands Hatch this year, and will likely be limited again when it returns at Okayama, Japan.

There are many other such examples of cars which have been built for other national series, which effectively are now also eligible to compete in the WTCC.

The most notable decision is that the Super 2000 Diesel cars will be able to compete, namely the SEAT León TDI.

The León TDI is the only diesel car entered in the WTCC, and after it’s introduction in mid-2007, it stormed to the 2008 and 2009 championships, and is still in contention this year despite the official withdrawal of the SEAT manufacturer.

The announcement effectively means the 2011 World Touring Car Championship will feature three different engine configurations:
– 2.0 litre normally aspirated petrol (e.g. current BMW 320si, Chevrolet Cruze, Chevrolet Lacetti)
– 2.0 litre turbo diesel (SEAT León TDI)
– 1.6 litre turbo charged petrol (new)