Photo: WTCC Media

The calendar for WTCC 2011 is released

The calendar for the FIA World Touring Car Championship 2011 was released during the World Motor Sport Council meeting in Paris today. The calendar features twelve rounds of which two are new: China and Argentina.

The season starts at Curitiba in Brazil and ends at Macau, just as this year. Buenos Aires is going to host the new Argentinean round while the Chinese round is yet to be confirmed.

Other changes, the Portuguese round has been changed back to Porto and the Japanese round has been moved from Okayama to Suzuka.

FIA also confirmed during the meeting that the current S2000 engines are going to be allowed in the WTCC next year alongside the new 1.6 litre turbo engines.

So far BMW and Chevrolet have confirmed that they are developing the new 1.6 litre engine. SEAT is expected to develop the engine as well, in co-operation with Skoda.

FIA WTCC 2011 Calendar

20/03 Curitiba (BRA)
03/04 Buenos Aires (ARG)*
15/05 Monza (ITA)
05/06 Marrakech (MAR)*
19/06 Brno (CZE)
03/07 Porto (PRT)
17/07 Brands Hatch (GBR)*
31/07 Oschersleben (DEU)
04/09* Valencia (ESP)
23/10 Suzuka (JPN)
05/11 TBA (CHN)*
20/11 Macau (CHN)

* = Subject to confirmation from the ASN.