14 drivers under investigation post qualifying craziness

The results of qualifying remain provisional as 14 drivers have been called to the stewards for investigation post the chaos from today’s qualifying session at the Salzburgring.

Rob Huff, Gabriele Tarquini, Norbert Michelisz, Mikhail Kozlovskiy, Alex MacDowall, Yvan Muller, James Nash, Tom Coronel, Tiago Monteiro, Hugo Valente, Tom Chilton, Stefano D’Aste, Pepe Oriola and Darry O’Young are all due to speak to the stewards about incidents in both Q1 and Q2, for incidents which involved holding up others to position themselves for the best slipstream.

This includes Chilton’s deliberately slow lap in Q2 which prevented any other drivers improving their times at the end of the session, though chiefly because none of them wanted to overtake him and lead the train.