Citroën Racing win the manufacturers’ crown in Shanghai

Citroën Racing clinched their second consecutive manufacturers’ title in the FIA World Touring Car Championship, winning both races at Shanghai International Circuit, host of the tenth round of the season.

José María López led a 1-2-3 for the French manufacturer in race one, finishing ahead of Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb. Ma Qing Hua also scored a point by finishing in tenth.

Yvan Muller had a strong race two to win from sixth on the grid, with López in third place. Sébastien Loeb and Ma Qing Hua scored points being fourth and eighth respectively.

After today’s result, Citroën Racing has 879 points to their account, 268 over Honda, a gap that cannot be turned around with two events, Thailand and Qatar, still left in the season.

Team principal Yves Matton was in full praise of his drivers for their efforts: “First of all, I would like to thank our drivers for the work they have done and for their sense of fair play. Even with the best car and the best team, you can’t achieve these kinds of results without exceptional drivers. In particular, I would like to thank Yvan, who was the first to join us and made sure we were ready from the very start of the 2014 season.”

Matton also had words of acknowledgement for the staff back in France, who he considers key for Citroën’s achievement: “When we talk about Citroën Racing, it also includes all the staff at our technical centre. You don’t see them on the television, but they are an integral part of this World Championship title.”

Reigning champion José María López is also a step closer to renewing his crown. The Argentinean leads the standings with 396 points, 75 more than Yvan Muller, with Sébastien Loeb now having fallen out of contention.

The next round of the 2015 WTCC season takes place in Buriram, a new circuit for all the drivers on the grid, in five weeks’ time.