Photo: TCR Media

WTCR race format confirmed by the World Motor Sport Council

The new World Touring Car Cup’s race weekend format and sporting regulations have been confirmed by the FIA World Motor Sport Council, with two qualifying sessions taking place per weekend, supporting the new three-race format.

The WTCR had already confirmed the switch to a three-race format, with one race taking place on the Saturday, with two on Sunday.

The two-day race weekend format will continue, with practice sessions on Saturday, followed by a single, 30-minute qualifying session (or 40 minutes or street circuits), the results of which will set the grid for the first race on Saturday.

On Sunday, the day will start with the three-part qualifying session as used by the WTCC in recent years, with a 20-minute Q1 (30 on street tracks) determining which 12 drivers progress to Q2.

Q2 is ten minutes (15 on street tracks), with the top five going through to Q3 for a one-lap shootout. The top ten of the combined qualifying result reversed will set the grid for Race 2, with Race 3’s grid as per the qualifying result.

Points are awarded in the order 27-20-17-14-12-10-8-6-4-2 for Race 1, 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 for Race 2 and 30-23-19-16-13-10-7-4-2-1, with the top five in Day 2’s third qualifying segment awarded points 5-4-3-2-1.