No action taken on Norbert Michelisz for Andy Priaulx collision

Norbert Michelisz has kept his Race 2 victory, and therefore the championship lead, after the BRC Hyundai driver was cleared of any wrongdoing by the stewards in his clash with Cyan Racing driver Andy Priaulx.

Michelisz had been fighting the Lynk & Co driver for the lead throughout the race, with the battle coming to a head on lap 12, as Priaulx drove more and more defensively to keep the Hyundai i30 N TCR driver behind.

While they battled, Michelisz’s team-mate Gabriele Tarquini saw his opportunity and snatched the lead from both of them, while Michelisz ran into the back of Priaulx’s car at Turn 4, knocking him out of the race.

Tarquini handed the lead back to Michelisz who went on to take the win and the points lead away from Honda’s Esteban Guerrieri, who failed to score a point all weekend.

The stewards ruled that Priaulx braked early and caught Michelisz out, and therefore decided that no action was necessary.

Michelisz also ran into the back of Priaulx’s car at the start of Race 3, this time with help from Comtoyou Racing’s Frédéric Vervisch, but the stewards concluded that was a racing incident.