Photo: Chevrolet YPF

Bernardo Llaver wins static Córdoba race

Bernardo Llaver took a lights-to-flag win in the Super TC2000 race at Córdoba. The Chevrolet YPF driver won the race ahead of privateer driver Ricardo Risatti and Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Julián Santero.

Llaver of Chevrolet started from pole following his victory in yesterday’s qualifying race and was joined on the front row Franco Vivian, who has returned to the championship for this round with Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Rain prior to the start of the race meant that tyre choice was crucial and Llaver opted for slicks, despite a greasy circuit.

Vivian stalled as the lights went to and dropped to the rear of the field. Risatti took second behind Llaver and was followed by Santero.

Matías Rossi of Toyota Gazoo Racing Argentina passed Renault driver Leonel Pernía for fourth place on the opening lap.

The pack was static until lap 18 when Marcelo Ciarrocchi was forced to retire from 13th position due to suspension damage.

Llaver was leading with just 1.2 seconds by lap 20 of 29 but Risatti was not close enough to seriously challenge for the lead.

Matías Muñoz Marchesi of Fiat Racing retired on lap 27 after receiving contact from his team-mate Franco Girolami.

Former F1 driver Rubens Barrichello took advantage the incident and climbed from 12th to tenth in his factory prepared Toyota Corolla.

TV footaged showed Muñoz Marchesi climbing out of his damaged car and went straight to his personal car to leave the circuit and head home.

Llaver won ahead of Risatti and Santero, followed by Rossi and Pernía.

Chevrolet driver Agustín Canapino crossed the finishing line in sixth, Renault Sport driver Facundo Ardusso seventh and Honda driver Fabián Yannantuoni rounded off the top eight.

Rossi heads the standings on 56 points, Canapino is second on 45 points and Ardusso third on 42 points.

The Super TC2000 field will remain at the circuit for the next round of the championship next weekend.