Photo: STC2000

Leonel Pernía and Antonino García wins Buenos Aires 200km for Renault

Renault Sport driver Leonel Pernía with co-driver Antonino García won the 200km Super TC2000 race in Buenos Aires. Agustin Canapino/Ricardo Risatti of Chevrolet and Matías Milla/Jorge Barrio of Renault Sport completed the podium.

Pernía claimed the lead at the start from pole position, followed by Honda driver driver Juan Ángel Rosso.

Promising youngster Jorge Barrio started the race strongly in Milla’s Renault, climbing from seventh to fourth.

Honda Racing had 2001, 2003 and 2005 champion Gabriel Ponce de León running in sixth position at the beginning of the race behind the wheel of Facundo Ardusso’s Civic, soon closing in on Bernardo Llaver of Chevrolet YPF for fifth position.

On lap 25 the pit window opened, so Canapino, Ponce de León, Rossi and Ciantini came in and handed over to co-drivers Ricardo Risatti, Facundo Ardusso, multiple WTCC champion José María López and Fineschi respectively.

Ardusso retired shortly after due to a loose wheel nut.

Pernía entered the pits two laps later from the lead and left the seat for 2016 junior TC2000 champion Antonino García. Rosso inherited first place on track until he came in on lap 31 and handed over to TC2000 driver Facundo Marques. Risatti overtook Marques for second shortly after the stop.

Matías Milla passed Marques for third as the race neared its end.

On lap 56, López suffered the same struggle as Ardusso with a loose wheel nut and retired from seventh position.

García took the checkered flag first, ten seconds ahead of Pernía in second place and 20 seconds ahead of Milla in third place.

Rosso/Marques finished fourth while Llaver/Merlo and Cingolani/Palma rounded off the top six.

Pernía has claimed the lead of the standings’ on 141 points, followed by Canapino on 127 and Rossi on 107.

The next Super TC2000 round will be held on September 26th at the San Juan Villicum circuit.