Berthon, Michelisz and Ma penalised after Race 1 in Spain

Comtoyou Racing driver Nathanaël Berthon, BRC Motorsport’s Norbert Michelisz and Cyan Racing’s Ma Qing Hua have been penalised for three separate incidents during the first FIA WTCR at Motorland Aragón.

Cyan Racing’s Yann Ehrlacher was in third place with Berthon behind when, on the second lap, the Audi driver hit the Lynk & Co, gaining the position as Ehrlacher fell to fifth place.

The stewards found Berthon responsible for causing a collision, giving him a five-second time-penalty and a penalty point.

Michelisz was also found responsible for colliding with Ehrlacher on lap three, with the Hungarian also receiving a five-second time penalty plus a penalty point.

Last, but not least, Ma received a five-second time penalty and a penalty point for his collision with Comtoyou Racing’s Tom Coronel on lap six.

After the penalties are applied, Berthon has dropped from third to fifth place, with Michelisz dropping from fifth to seventh while Ma stays in 13th place.

Hyundai’s Mikel Azcona was promoted to third place, with Ehrlacher fourth and his team-mate Yvan Muller sixth.