Zheng Zhen Dong wins for VW, Andy Yan wins title in Shanghai

Shanghai VW 333 Racing’s Zheng Zhen Dong won the final race of the 2013 China Touring Car Championship at the Shanghai International Circuit, while Chang’an Ford FRD’s Andy Yan won his second title courtesy of his eighth place finish.

The privateer Chevrolet Cruze of Ziang Zhi Qiang started from pole position, but an issue with the rear-wheel left him vulnerable at the start and he was quickly passed by Zheng’s Volkswagen Polo. The G Racing Chevrolet driver soon retired on lap four.

Martin Xie moved up into second place in the Chang’an Ford Focus, with the Kia K2 of Huang Chu Han up to third in the early stages putting three different manufactuers in the podium positions.

On lap six however, Jiang Tengyi, the only driver who could stop Yan from winning the title, passed Huang’s Kia for third. It wasn’t enough however, with Yan’s eighth place being enough to secure the 2011 champion his second CTCC Super Production title.