Three races per weekend confirmed for the 2018 WTCR

The new the FIA World Touring Car Cup, WTCR, will run three races per weekend with the first race on day one and the remaining two on day two.

Each race weekend will start with two 30-minute Free Practice sessions, followed by 30 minutes of qualifying and Race 1.

The second day features a second qualifying session with Q1 of 25 minutes, Q2 of 10 minutes and Q3 with a top-five shootout, followed by Race 2 and Race 3.

Different points will be awarded for each race according to the following scale:

Race 1:
Race 2:
Race 3:

The first race will have a grid according to the first qualifying session and the second race will have a reversed grid with the top ten positions from Q2 while the grid of the third race will be determined as per the combined order after Q3.

The calendar is yet to be announced but will consist of ten events on four continents and will be revealed shortly.