TCR Japan 2019 calendar unveiled at Suzuka

The calendar for the inaugural TCR Japan Touring Car Series was revealed in a press conference at the Suzuka circuit today, with six races set for the championship’s first season.

At the launch event for the TCR Japan series, Marcello Lotti, CEO of TCR promoter WSC, hailed the success of the TCR formula across the world, as Japan joins Australia and Malaysia as two of the latest championships to run to the world-leading formula from 2019.

“Today, there are 30 TCR championships and series, in 35 countries on five continents,” said Lotti.

“There are 250 races per year, 12 homologated brands and over 650 cars. 700 drivers this year have driven a TCR car, and these 700 drivers come from 49 different countries. These are very interesting numbers I think.

“And now we’ve announced TCR Australia for 2019, now it’s time to welcome the TCR concept to Japan, with the TCR Japan championship.

“All of you know Japan we’ve already started our cooperation with Super Taikyu, but in a different kind of cooperation as Super Taikyu is endurance; but I like bumper to bumper racing, so I think a sprint race formula is perfect for TCR Japan.”

The TCR Japan series will also use Yokohama tyres, which is fast becoming the tyre of choice for all TCR series, with the WTCR World Touring Car Cup, TCR Europe series and TCR UK championships already running on Yokohama tyres, with the TCR Germany championship also switching from Hankook to Yokohama next year.

The six round 2019 TCR Japan series season starts at the Autopolis circuit in May, and then races at Sportsland SUGO, Fuji, Okayama and Suzuka, with the venue for the season finale still to be finalised.

2019 TCR Japan Touring Car Series calendar

Mar 26-27 – Official test at Fuji

May 16-19 – Autopolis
Jun 22-23 – Sporstland SUGO
Jul 12-13 – Fuji International Speedway
Sept 28-29 – Okayama International Circuit
Oct 26-27 – Suzuka International Racing Course