Photo: TCR Japan

Ten drivers entered for TCR Japan season opener

The TCR Japan series will start this weekend at the Sportsland Sugo circuit with ten cars entered.

The number is a reduction from 15 full season entries last year, most likely as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

Reigning champion of the Saturday Series champion Takeshi Matsumoto is back for the 2020 season, driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR for RT-Team Wakayama.

Takuro Shinohara, who topped the pre-season test at Fuji Speedway earlier this year, is back with Team Hitotsuyama, driving an Audi RS 3 LMS.

Mineki Okura is new to the series, driving an Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR for M-Prototyping Team Stile Corse.

The season opener starts on Saturday July 25th.

2020 TCR Japan entry list

7 – Jun Makino – NILZZ Racing – Audi RS 3 LMS
19 – Hirobon – BRP – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
21 – Takuro Shinohara – Audi Team Hitotsuyama – Audi RS 3 LMS
25 – Takeshi Matsumoto – VolkswagenRT with Teamwakayama
34 – Rio Shimono – Drago Corse – Honda Civic Type-R TCR
55 – Mototino – 55Moto with J’S Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
62 – Resshu Shioya – 全薬工業 with Team G/Motion’ – Honda Civic Type-R TCR
69 – Junichi Umemoto – 55Moto with J’S Racing – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
73 – Mineki Okura – M-Prototyping Team Stile Corse – Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR
190 – Kengo Ichijo – BRP – Cupra TCR