Photo: ETCC Media

Driver changes for second ETCC race at Slovakia

There are a number of driver changes for the second round of the 2013 FIA European Touring Car Cup at the Slovakiaring, with perhaps most notably the absence of second in the S2000 drivers’ standings Christian Fischer from Liqui Moly Team Engstler.

The 42-year-old Swiss driver currently sits second in the S2000 class after a strong weekend at Monza, but has not been entered by Engstler Motorsport for the Slovakiaring. As a result, the team will only be represented by 2010 ADAC Procar Series champion Roland Hertner.

At Borosan Otomotiv Motorsport, Aytaç Biter will take over the BMW 320si, replacing team owner/driver Ibrahim Okyay.

Biter competed for the team in last year’s ETCC, whilst Okyay suffered a terrible first round at Monza. Okyay had qualified third, but the Turkish driver’s times were disallowed after the car was found to be almost 60kgs underweight, with the team not having revised the car from its specification from the Turkish championship.

Another new entry in the S2000 class will be Slovakian driver Filip Sládecka, which adds an Alfa Romeo 156 to the grid with the Incar Revco Team.

Another addition to the grid, this time in the Single-Make Trophy will be Jaromir Štádler. The Slovakian driver joins Krenek Motorsport in a SEAT León Supercopa. The team will continue to run both Petr Fulín and Michal Matĕjovský in the S2000 class, both drivers won each of the two races at the track last year.

There will be a drop to 29 cars in total entered with a number of drivers not returning for the second meeting. The drop is caused principally with AMG Motorsport not entering, which ran four BMW 320sis at Monza for Roman Golikov, Oleg Chebotarev, Mikhail Grachev and Oleg Petrikov.

Also not returning next weekend will be Luxembourg driver Gilles Bruckner in the S1600 class or Aleksander Ivanchenko, who also raced a S1600 Ford Fiesta at Monza.