Photo: ETCC Media

Dusan Borkovic takes pole on his ETCC return in Hungary

Dusan Borkovic has claimed pole position for the first round of the 2015 FIA European Touring Car Cup at the Hungaroring, one-tenth of a second ahead of Krenek Motorsport’s Petr Fulín, with Andreas Pfister completing the top three for Pfister Racing.

As has been the case all weekend, the Single-Make Trophy SEAT León Cup Racers have dominated the time sheets, with the top five cars all from the SMT class, with Mat’o Homola fourth fastest ahead of Ferenc Ficza in the Zengő Motorsport-run entry

Borkovic’s best lap came half way through the session, the first fully dry running of the day for the ETCC, a time of 1:55.601 which was 0.103 ahead of Fulín’s best.

In the TC2T class, David Kajaia was fastest in the Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320 TC, just under a second down on the ultimate pace set by Borkovic.

In the TC2 class for normally aspirated Super 2000 cars, ist was Michal Matekovsky who was fastest, ninth overall in the BMW 320si of Krenek Motorsport.

In the Super 1600 class, Niklas Mackschin took pole position with the 16th fastest time overall, 1.3 seconds faster than his closest competitior Ulrike Krafft, both in the Ford Fiesta 1.6s.

The first race takes place at 10:05 CET tomorrow, with the race two grid determined from the result of race one with the top eight reversed.