Photo: Jacques Letihon Photographe

TCR Benelux entry list confirmed ahead of Spa opener

The second season of the TCR Benelux series gets underway this weekend at Spa-Francorchamps, with a 16-car entry for the first race of the season, with Stefano Comini confirmed as a last-minute star entry for the opening round.

2016 champion Stéphane Lémeret returns to defend his title, again with Boutsen Ginion Racing, with the team fielding a pair of Honda Civic TCRs. Lémeret will be joined by Dutchman Tom Coronel for the bulk of the season, while Lémeret’s team-mate will again be Benjamin Lessennes, with his co-driver yet to be announced.

Delahaye Racing will also field a mixed pair of Volkswagen-Audi Group cars, with a SEAT León TCR for the brothers Guillaume and Edouard Mondron, with Romain de Leval driving the team’s Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR, with his co-driver still to be confirmed.

Team WRT will likewise run a mixed SEAT-VW squad, running the RACB and SEAT Belgium backed León TCR for Sam Dejonghe and Denis Dupont, and a Volkwagen Golf for Matthieu Detry and Maxime Potty.

Dutch team Bas Koeten Racing will field a pair of new Audi RS 3s for Willem Meyer and Paul Sieljes in one car, with Mika Morien and Stan Oord in the other.

DK Racing will run a Volkswagen Golf for Jonas de Kimpe and Luc De Cock, while Milo Racing will field a Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR but are yet to announce their drivers.

DG Sport Compétition, which run the Opel Astras in the TCR International Series, will run a Peugeot 308 Racing Cup in this year’s TCR Benelux series. The team have confirmed Peugeot regular Aurélien Comte, with the second driver to be confirmed.

Ferry Monster Autosport will run a SEAT León, but also are yet to confirm their drivers, while TCR International Series squad Comtoyou Racing will break in their second Audi RS 3 ahead of the next round of the series, with two-time champion Stefano Comini making his second appearance in the Benelux series, paired with TCR Germany driver Sheldon van der Linde.

That completes the field of 13 TCR-spec cars entered for the season, with three Renault Clios completing the 16 car field.

TCR Benelux Spa-Francorchamps Entry List

No – Drivers – Team – Car
1 – Stéphane Lémeret/Tom Coronel – Boutsen Ginion Racing – Honda Civic TCR
2 – Benjamin Lessennes/TBC – Boutsen Ginion Racing – Honda Civic TCR
4 – Romain de Leval/TBC – Delahaye Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
5 – Edoardo Mondron/Guillaume Mondron – Delahaye Racing – SEAT León TCR
6 – TBC/TBC – Ferry Monster Autosport – SEAT León TCR
7 – Sam Dejonghe/Denis Dupont – Team WRT – SEAT León TCR
8 – Aurélien Comte/TBC – DG Sport Compétition – Peugeot 308 Racing Cup
12 – Stefano Comini/Sheldon van der Linde – Comtoyou Racing – Audi RS 3 LMS
20 – TBC/TBC – Milo Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
52 – Maxime Potty/Matthieu Detry – Team WRT – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
56 – Willem Meyer/Paul Sieljes – Bas Koeten Racing – Audi RS 3 LMS
64 – Jonas de Kimpe/Luc De Cock – DK Racing – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
66 – Mika Morien/Stan Oord – Bas Koeten Racing – Audi RS 3 LMS
111 – Sven van Laere/Thomas Piessens – Netherlands Koeten Racing – Renault Clio
112 – Brett Lidsey – MRM Racing – Renault Clio
196 – Filip Uyttendaele/Gregory Eyckmans – Renault Oudenaerde – Renault Clio