Photo: PWR Racing

WTCR entry a “big step” for PWR Racing, with drivers to be announced shortly

Reigning STCC teams’ champions PWR Racing will field two Cupra TCRs in the 2019 World Touring Car Cup, a “big and important” step according to team co-owner Peter “Poker” Wallenberg.

“This is a big and important step for PWR Racing,” said Peter “Poker” Wallenberg.

“We took on the mantle as the official SEAT team in Scandinavia ahead of the 2016 season, and now to get the chance to represent SEAT’s sister brand Cupra on the international scene is a strong reward, and a pat on the shoulder to everyone who has worked with PWR Racing over the last years.”

The team is yet to confirm drivers for their two Cupras that will be run in cooperation with the Belgian Comtoyou Racing squad. Their identities will be revealed shortly, with at least one of them young talent, with the team stating the following:

“The team has since the start in 2012 focussed on developing young talents within racing. The driver line-up for the WTCR will reflect this and consists of a mix of experience and youthful talent. The names will be reveled shortly, stay tuned.”

The team ran four Cupras in the 2018 STCC for Robert Dahlgren, Daniel Haglöf, Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky and Philip Morin.

With Morin having announced his retirement from racing and Dahlgren and Åhlin-Kottulinsky having been confirmed for PWR Racing’s Scandinavian programme, it could indicate that team co-owner Haglöf is set for his WTCR debut.

“The development of the team has gone incredibly fast since we started PWR Racing in 2012 and now we are facing our very first international season,” said Haglöf.

“This is a good opportunity to measure our capacity on the very top level, something I am really looking forward to! I am grateful to Cupra Racing that they have selected us to represent their brand on the highest of levels.”