Fredrik Ekblom wins and claims championship lead

Fredrik Ekblom won the TTA – Racing Elite League race at Anderstorp and took over the championship lead from Linus Ohlsson, who finished seventh.
“My car was amazing today, I am so pleased. I got a decent start and was able to chase down Robert quickly. Win and championship lead, I’m over the moon,” said Ekblom.

Ekblom started second but hunted down and got past manufacturer colleague and pole man Robert Dahlgren on lap five.

Fredrik Larsson finished third for BMW Dealer Team WCR and was close to the Volvos early in the race but lost time as the race progressed to finish three seconds behind.

Tommy Rustad secured the team championship victory with Dahlgren in team Volvo Polestar Black R in fourth position ahead of a storming Richard Göransson. The BMW driver started 11th after going off in qualifying and made his way up to fifth.
“It was one of my best fifth places ever. I had some really good overtaking maneuvers and the car was great today,” said Göransson.

Alx Danielsson secured Citroën team Brovallen Design’s best ever TTA result in sixth, ten seconds from Ekblom over the finishing line. Ohlsson crossed the line as seventh with Andreas Ebbesson going victorious from a four-car battle in eighth involving Stefan Söderberg, Martin Öhlin and Mattias Andersson.

Andersson’s team mate Robin Rudholm had a tough day. The Saab driver started third, but moved just before the lights went off and was penalized with a drive through penalty. Rudholm rejoined last and made his way up through the field with lap times matching Ekblom’s, only to go off track with three laps left and parking in the gravel.

Another retirement was Thed Björk, who fought for fifth earlier in the race, who sustained a puncture with two laps left.

TTA resumes at Gothenburg City Arena in two weeks.